Checked against the sources below on . ReadyNative’s column is generated from its module catalog on every release. “Not stated” means the sources do not say. Tell us if something here is out of date.
| Feature | ReadyNative | TurboStarter |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free, or $49 Starter / $69 Pro one-time | $249 Core one-time ($399 with the AI Kit) |
| License | Free tier MIT; Starter and Pro commercial, unlimited apps | Commercial: lifetime, unlimited projects |
| Expo SDK | SDK 57 | Latest at creation |
| Navigation | Expo Router 57 | Not stated |
| Styling | NativeWind 4, NativeWind 5, Tamagui, Unistyles 3 or StyleSheet (plain RN) | Uniwind + React Native Reusables |
| Data fetching | TanStack Query, Apollo Client or SWR | React Query + Hono RPC |
| State | Zustand or Jotai | Not stated |
| Storage | expo-sqlite/kv-store, MMKV or AsyncStorage | Not stated |
| Forms | React Hook Form | Not stated |
| Translations | i18next or Lingui; 6 languages, right-to-left Arabic | i18next |
| Sign-in | Pro: Supabase Auth, Clerk or Better Auth | Better Auth: password, magic link, OTP, Apple, Google, GitHub, 2FA |
| Payments | Pro: RevenueCat, Adapty or Stripe Checkout | RevenueCat or Superwall |
| Push notifications | Pro: Expo Notifications | FCM / APNs |
| Home-screen widgets | Expo Widgets: home-screen widget and Live Activity (iOS) | Not stated |
| Location | Expo Location | Not stated |
| Over-the-air updates | EAS Update with an in-app “Update ready” banner | EAS Update |
| Analytics | Pro: PostHog or Amplitude | PostHog, Mixpanel or Google Analytics |
| Crash reporting | Pro: Sentry | Sentry or PostHog |
| Unit tests | Jest + Testing Library | Jest |
| E2E tests | Maestro | Maestro |
| CI and store builds | EAS build and submit profiles | EAS, GitHub Actions for Play |
| Choose the stack | One option per category; setup deletes the rest | CLI picks apps and billing, analytics and monitoring providers |
| AI agent files | AGENTS.md, an architecture graph and agent skills | Rules, skills and an MCP server |
Why pick ReadyNative
- You are building a mobile app and want an Expo-only repo, not a web-first monorepo.
- You want Supabase or Clerk as an option for sign-in, a lower price, and a free MIT tier to try first.
When TurboStarter is the better pick
- You are building a web SaaS first and want the mobile app and a browser extension on the same backend.
- You need organizations, roles and invitations shared between web and mobile.
Try the free tier first: ready-native-free on GitHub (MIT). Or read how picking a stack works, browse every module and see pricing.
Questions
Is TurboStarter free?
TurboStarter: $249 Core one-time ($399 with the AI Kit) (Commercial: lifetime, unlimited projects). ReadyNative: Free, or $49 Starter / $69 Pro one-time; the free tier is MIT on GitHub.
Which Expo SDK does TurboStarter use?
TurboStarter creates the project on the Expo SDK that is current when you run it. ReadyNative ships Expo SDK 57.
What does ReadyNative add over TurboStarter?
You are building a mobile app and want an Expo-only repo, not a web-first monorepo. You want Supabase or Clerk as an option for sign-in, a lower price, and a free MIT tier to try first.
Sources
- https://www.turbostarter.dev/
- https://www.turbostarter.dev/docs/mobile/stack
- https://www.turbostarter.dev/docs/mobile/cli
- https://www.turbostarter.dev/llms.txt