Checked against the sources below on . ReadyNative’s column is generated from its module catalog on every release. “Not stated” means the sources do not say. Tell us if something here is out of date.
| Feature | ReadyNative | create-expo-app |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free, or $49 Starter / $69 Pro one-time | Free |
| License | Free tier MIT; Starter and Pro commercial, unlimited apps | MIT |
| Expo SDK | SDK 57 | Latest at creation |
| Navigation | Expo Router 57 | Expo Router |
| Styling | NativeWind 4, NativeWind 5, Tamagui, Unistyles 3 or StyleSheet (plain RN) | StyleSheet |
| Data fetching | TanStack Query, Apollo Client or SWR | No |
| State | Zustand or Jotai | No |
| Storage | expo-sqlite/kv-store, MMKV or AsyncStorage | No |
| Forms | React Hook Form | No |
| Translations | i18next or Lingui; 6 languages, right-to-left Arabic | No |
| Sign-in | Pro: Supabase Auth, Clerk or Better Auth | No |
| Payments | Pro: RevenueCat, Adapty or Stripe Checkout | No |
| Push notifications | Pro: Expo Notifications | No |
| Home-screen widgets | Expo Widgets: home-screen widget and Live Activity (iOS) | No |
| Location | Expo Location | No |
| Over-the-air updates | EAS Update with an in-app “Update ready” banner | No |
| Analytics | Pro: PostHog or Amplitude | No |
| Crash reporting | Pro: Sentry | No |
| Unit tests | Jest + Testing Library | No |
| E2E tests | Maestro | No |
| CI and store builds | EAS build and submit profiles | No |
| Choose the stack | One option per category; setup deletes the rest | Five starting templates |
| AI agent files | AGENTS.md, an architecture graph and agent skills | Not stated |
Why pick ReadyNative
- You would otherwise spend the first weeks wiring sign-in, payments, push, analytics and store builds.
When create-expo-app is the better pick
- You are learning Expo, or you want to choose and wire every library yourself.
- You want the smallest possible starting point, straight from Expo.
Try the free tier first: ready-native-free on GitHub (MIT). Or read how picking a stack works, browse every module and see pricing.
Questions
Is create-expo-app free?
create-expo-app: Free (MIT). ReadyNative: Free, or $49 Starter / $69 Pro one-time; the free tier is MIT on GitHub.
Which Expo SDK does create-expo-app use?
create-expo-app creates the project on the Expo SDK that is current when you run it. ReadyNative ships Expo SDK 57.
What does ReadyNative add over create-expo-app?
You would otherwise spend the first weeks wiring sign-in, payments, push, analytics and store builds.